Some Holy Spirit Conviction

April 24, 2011

About 99.9999% of the time before I go to sleep I pray for different things like my family, friends, work, different request people have etc. Last night I went to bed at around 1:30am and started praying and I was drifting in and out of sleep during the prayer and this verse popped in my head.

“And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping. And he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour? 41Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” 42Again, for the second time, he went away and prayed, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it,  your will be done.” 43And again he came and found them sleeping, for their eyes were heavy.”

-Matthew 26: 40-43

Maybe because this story was fresh in my mind from the Good Friday service a couple of hours ago. I felt like Peter…Jesus asked him to pray for one hour and I couldn’t focus my mind for 5 minutes to pray. I felt like Jesus was talking to me. “Hey Khang…stay up for 5 minutes and pray for your family and their salvation…pray for friends marriage…pray for your own spiritual growth.” I am sure if Peter knew what was about to happen to Jesus he would have paid more attention, prayed his little heart out and would have gotten all the other disciples to get up and pray with him. We know that Jesus died…and most importantly rose from the dead three days later, but that isn’t an excuse to slack off in prayer.

I guess I say all of this is that in that moment of weakness, when my flesh wanted sleep but I knew I should be praying, the Holy Spirit placed some conviction on my heart. It is a nice slap in the face.

Until next time…

Happy Easter everyone! Our Lord and Savior has risen!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

